CALD - Mental health subject guide - topics - LibGuides at South Australian Health Library Service

Cultural and religious resources for healthcare providers

Community Profiles for Health Care Providers (QLD) Includes community profiles, developed for Queensland Health in 2011, for 18 multicultural communities.
Community profiles - Multicultural SA The Community Profiles provide a snapshot of South Australia's diverse communities, looking at country of birth. Contains some local contacts.
Supporting Survivors of Trauma and Torture (SA) STTARS assists people from a refugee and migrant background who have experienced torture or been traumatised as a result of persecution, violence, war or unlawful imprisonment prior to their arrival in Australia.

Baha'i culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of the Baha'i faith.

Buddhism culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Buddhism

Christian culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Christianity

Health care providers' handbook on Hindu patients This handbook, developed by Queensland Health with the assistance of the Hindu community of Queensland, covers a range of topics including prayer and meditation, astrological beliefs, karma, fasting, end of life issues, maternity care, and food requirements.
Hindu culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Hinduism

Islam culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Islam
Islamic Information Centre of South Australia
Western Australian health care providers' handbook on Muslim patients This handbook updates and expands on the topics covered in the Queensland handbook, and includes: • Part 1 - Islamic Values and Health Care • Part 2 - Mental Health / Cognitive Dysfunction Patients

Jewish culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Judaism

Health care providers' handbook on Hindu patients This handbook, developed by Queensland Health with the assistance of the Hindu community of Queensland, covers a range of topics including prayer and meditation, astrological beliefs, karma, fasting, end of life issues, maternity care, and food requirements.
Sikhism culture and religion information sheet Published by the WA Office of Multicultural Interests to provide information on cultural aspects of Sikhism

Interpreting and Translating Centre (SA) The Interpreting and Translating Centre (ITC) is a South Australian Government agency employing qualified translators and interpreters experienced in most of the community and commercial languages of South Australia
Transcultural Mental Health Centre (TMHC), multilingual resources Includes translated versions of assessments and consumer information.
Working effectively with interpreters Developed by the Victorian Transcultural Mental Health Centre, this webpage contains links to guidelines, DVD, poster and report.

Please contact the Library to borrow this and other resources.

Counseling Muslims by Sameera Ahmed (Editor); Mona M. Amer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415988605
Publication Date: 2011