Free and Open Access Resources
An overview of freely available and open access resources in health and medicine.
About
There is a wide range of free and open access resources available to support clinicians and health care professionals. Included in this guide are a selection of some of the more useful resources.
- An increasing percentage of journal articles in health and medicine are being published open access, which means that they are available for everyone to read. PubMed and Google Scholar are both excellent search options for finding journal literature.
- If the article you wish to view is behind a paywall, try searching for the article in Google - the article you need may be available on a university research repository or on another open access source.
- Check your alma mata - some universities offer alumni memberships that include access to a range of their online resources.
- Check your college or professional association - some may have a library or provide discounted or free access to resources as part of your membership.
Databases and resources
- PubMedSearch across a broad range of health and medical sciences literature.
- Cochrane LibrarySearch across a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNetSearch across research and other knowledge designed to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
- Campbell CollaborationInternational social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.
- CareSearchPalliative care evidence and tools for health professionals and information about death and dying for the whole community.
- Drug Information DirectoryProduced by the Alcohol and Drug Foundation, the directory contains information on alcohol and other drugs - including mental health, lived experience and harm reduction.
- EpistemonikosEpistemonikos is a multilingual database of health evidence and a good source of systematic reviews and other types of scientific evidence relevant for health-decision making.
- Europe PMCComprehensive access to life sciences literature (includes access to over 8 million full-text articles)
- eviQEvidence-based consensus driven cancer treatment protocols and information for use at the point of care
- Google ScholarGoogle search engine specialising in searching across the scholarly literature.
- Medical Encyclopedia (Medline Plus)Includes over 4,000 articles on diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries and surgeries.
- OTseekerOTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions
- palliAGEDpalliAGED is the palliative care evidence and practice information resource for the Australian aged care sector. Providing support for health and care practitioners as well as resource developers, the website also provides trustworthy information for older Australians, their families and friends.
- PEDroPEDro (the Physiotherapy Evidence Database) is a database of trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.
- speechBITEspeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
- Trip DatabaseTrip is a clinical search engine designed to facilitate access to high-quality research evidence.
- Last Updated: Apr 5, 2023 11:20 AM
- URL: https://sahealthlibrary.sa.gov.au/free
- Print Page